7 Types of Monkeys You Can Own as Pets in The UK (2024)

Currently, you may obtain alicense from your local council to keep wild, dangerous or exotic animals, including most monkey species and other primates as pets in the United Kingdom.UK animal laws require that you properly care for any animal you keep as a pet. Speaking of care, UK animal laws require that pet ownersprovide their petswith a proper diet and fresh water, somewhere suitable to live, andprotection from, and treatment for, illness and injury.

Furthermore, you must be at least 18 years old to own a pet monkey or other animals in the UK. Failure to properly care for your pet monkey or other primates could result in an unlimited fine and up to 6 months imprisonment. In addition, you may not be able to own animals in the future. With that in mind, below are the types of monkeys that are commonly kept as pets in the United Kingdom.

Please note that the laws regarding the ownership of monkeys may change at any time, as RSPCA and other animal organizations are campaigning against primates as pets and calling for the governments of England and Wales to change the law.

1. Capuchin Monkeys

7 Types of Monkeys You Can Own as Pets in The UK (1)

Capuchins are one of theNew-world monkeys legal to keep as pets with a license in the United Kingdom. These species of monkeysare energetic and require enrichment and an active lifestyle when kept as pets. Capuchins typically grow between 12 and 22 inches long and have a lifespan of35 to 45 years in human care. Acquiring a pet Capuchin monkey in the UK can cost you anywhere from£3000 to £6000.

2. Squirrel Monkeys

7 Types of Monkeys You Can Own as Pets in The UK (2)

AnotherNew World monkey you can legally keep as a pet in the United Kingdom is theSquirrel monkey. Endemic totropical forests of Central and South America,Squirrel Monkeysare diurnal, live in groups of 15-12, and are deemed to beone of the cleverest monkeys.

They areclassified as frugivores and insectivores because they eat mainly fruits and insects.Squirrel monkeys measure up to 12.5 inches in body length and can live up to 20 years in human care. Squirrel monkeys in addition to owl monkeys and titi monkeys are excepted from the UK's Dangerous Wild Animals list. This means that you don't need a license to own a Squirrel monkey as a pet in the UK.

3. Marmoset Monkeys

7 Types of Monkeys You Can Own as Pets in The UK (3)

Marmoset monkeys are legal to keep as pets in many European countries including the UK. Thewhite-tufted marmoset or thecommon marmoset and thePygmy marmoset are the most popular species of Marmosets commonly kept as pets in the United Kingdom. Both the white-tufted and Pygmy marmosets have an average lifespan of 16 years in human care. It will cost up to £2,000 to buy a Marmoset monkey in the UK. Currently, a license is not required to keep amarmoset monkey as a pet in the UK.

4.Macaque Monkeys

7 Types of Monkeys You Can Own as Pets in The UK (4)

One of the Old World monkeys that are currently legal to keep as a pet in the UK is the Macaque monkey. Macaque monkeys are classified as frugivorous, although their diet also includes leaves, flowers, tree bark, and seeds. Like all primates, the practice of keeping Macaque monkeys as pets is controversial.

Queen of England, Henrietta Maria of France, and QueenCatherine de' Medici are known to have kept monkeys as pets. While having a pet monkey in your home can be very exciting, you should consider all the requirements and possible dangers it poses to you and your family's health and safety before welcoming a Macaque monkey into your home.Macaque Monkeys live between 20 and 27 years depending on the species.

5. Guenon Monkeys

7 Types of Monkeys You Can Own as Pets in The UK (5)

AnotherOld World monkey you can legally keep as a pet with a license in the UK is theGuenon Monkey. Native tosub-Saharan Africa, Guenon monkeys usually measure between16 and 22 inches in body length and have a lifespan of up to30 years in human care. By all accounts, Guenon monkeys are high maintenance but can make gentle, trusting pets if acquired young andtreated well.

6. Patas Monkeys

7 Types of Monkeys You Can Own as Pets in The UK (6)

Patas monkeys are ground-dwelling primates native to West and East Africa. In the UK, you can obtain a license to keep a Patas monkey as an exotic pet. Known as the fastest primates on Earth, Patas monkeys, also known as the wadi monkeys or hussar monkeys, can move at speeds up to 34 mph. Physically adapted for life on the ground, Patas monkeys feed primarily on Acacia fruits, leaves, flowers and tree gum. Patas Monkeys can live for up 20 years in human care.

7. Tamarin Monkeys

7 Types of Monkeys You Can Own as Pets in The UK (7)

Currently, you don't need to obtain a license in order to keep a Tamarin monkey as a pet in the UK. According to many Tamarin owners, Tamarins make great pet monkeys if properly cared for and well-treated. Tamarins are sometimes referred to as pocket monkeys, due to the fact that they're small enough to fit in your pocket. In the UK, purchasing a pet Tamarin monkey can be as easy as purchasing a pet bunny rabbit or a goldfish. Cotton-top Tamarins and Emperor Tamarins live for up to 24 years in human care.

Other Primates That Are Legal As Pets in The UK

Other primates that require a license to keep as pets in the United Kingdom include Baboons, drills and mandrills, langurs, leaf monkeys, proboscis monkeys, colobus monkeys, theropithecus, talapoin monkeys, howler monkeys, woolly monkeys, saki monkeys, uakari monkeys, chimpanzees, bonobos, orangutans, gorillas, lemurs (except the woolly lemur and Lac Alaotra bamboo lemur), and gibbons.

How Much Does it Cost To Obtain a Dangerous Wild Animals License in The UK?

As mentioned earlier in this article, aDangerous Wild Animals License is required to keep most monkey species and other primates as pets in the United Kingdom. However, the license comes with an initial application fee and a yearly renewal fee.

These fees vary from one local government to another. For example,the local council for the district of Bath and North East Somerset set the initialapplication fee for theDangerous Wild Animals License at£348 and the renewal application fee at£131.

In theEast Riding of Yorkshire, the Dangerous Wild Animals License application fee is£390. In Bristol, England, the application fee for thedangerous and wild animal license is£208 in addition to inspection fees, which costaround £104 per hour.

  • Stafford Borough Council:£160 plus vet fees
  • City of Lincoln Council:£362
  • Buckinghamshire Council:£598. Lasts for 2 years
  • Herefordshire Council:£568 plus vet fees. Lasts for 2 years
  • Doncaster Council:The application fee is £185 + vets inspection fees
7 Types of Monkeys You Can Own as Pets in The UK (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Horacio Brakus JD

Last Updated:

Views: 5912

Rating: 4 / 5 (71 voted)

Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Horacio Brakus JD

Birthday: 1999-08-21

Address: Apt. 524 43384 Minnie Prairie, South Edda, MA 62804

Phone: +5931039998219

Job: Sales Strategist

Hobby: Sculling, Kitesurfing, Orienteering, Painting, Computer programming, Creative writing, Scuba diving

Introduction: My name is Horacio Brakus JD, I am a lively, splendid, jolly, vivacious, vast, cheerful, agreeable person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.